The Center for Tobacco Products (CTP)[1] was established by the United States Food and Drug Administration as a result of the Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act[2] signed by President Obama in June 2009.
The FDA center is responsible for the implementation of the Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act.

The smoking prevention and tobacco law establishes regulatory controls for tobacco products:[3]

  • Setting performance standards for tobacco products
  • Reviewing premarket applications for new and modified risk of tobacco product
  • Requirement of warning labels for tobacco products
  • Enforcing advertising and promotion restrictions for tobacco products

The U.S. mandated legislation is a historic milestone for the U.S. FDA. The enacted law will assist with the federal agency regulatory efforts and initiatives to curb the suspected health hazards for tobacco products on an annual basis.


.mw-parser-output .portal{border:solid #aaa 1px;padding:0}.mw-parser-output .portal.tleft{margin:0.5em 1em 0.5em 0}.mw-parser-output .portal.tright{margin:0.5em 0 0.5em 1em}.mw-parser-output .portal>ul{display:table;box-sizing:border-box;padding:0.1em;max-width:175px;background:#f9f9f9;font-size:85%;line-height:110%;font-style:italic;font-weight:bold}.mw-parser-output .portal>ul>li{display:table-row}.mw-parser-output .portal>ul>li>span:first-child{display:table-cell;padding:0.2em;vertical-align:middle;text-align:center}.mw-parser-output .portal>ul>li>span:last-child{display:table-cell;padding:0.2em 0.2em 0.2em 0.3em;vertical-align:middle}

  • Food portal
  • United States portal
  • Politics portal
  • Law portal
  • Medicine portal
  • ^ About U.S. FDA Center for Tobacco Products
  • ^ Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act (Public Law 111-31)
  • ^ U.S. FDA Tobacco Products Information
  • Commissioners

    • Harvey W. Wiley
    • Carl L. Alsberg
    • Charles A. Browne
    • Walter G. Campbell
    • Paul B. Dunbar
    • Charles W. Crawford
    • George P. Larrick
    • James L. Goddard
    • Herbert L. Ley
    • Charles C. Edwards
    • Alexander M. Schmidt
    • Donald Kennedy
    • Jere E. Goyan
    • Arthur H. Hayes Jr.
    • Frank Edward Young
    • David Aaron Kessler
    • Jane E. Henney
    • Mark McClellan
    • Lester Crawford
    • Andrew von Eschenbach
    • Margaret Hamburg
    • Robert Califf
    • Scott Gottlieb
    • Stephen Hahn

    Society and culture

    • Criticism of the Food and Drug Administration
    • FDA Most Wanted Fugitives
    • History of the Food and Drug Administration
    • Regulation of food and dietary supplements by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration

    Commissioner of Food and Drugs

    Retrieved from “”


    By admin

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *